• Queenstown
  • Everything New Zealand

Easy to book - Secure Online Payments - Instant email confirmation - Flexible to make changes

Te Anau Glow Worm Caves

  • Pin on Pinterest
  • Share on Facebook
Te Anau Glow Worm Caves

from NZD$81.00

  • Te Anau Glow Worm Caves image 1
  • Te Anau Glow Worm Caves image 2
  • Te Anau Glow Worm Caves image 3
  • Te Anau Glow Worm Caves image 4
  • Te Anau Glow Worm Caves image 5
  • Te Anau Glow Worm Caves image 6

Watch Video

Glow Worm Cave Tours in Te Anau

Prices & Options Currency Converter

Adult:

  • from Te Anau (day tour) NZD$81.00
  • from Te Anau (evening tour) NZD$85.00
  • from Queenstown NZD$156.00

Child (5-14yrs):

  • from Te Anau NZD$22.00
  • from Queenstown NZD$78.00

Genuine Customer Reviews powered by Feefo

Service rating:   excellent

The tour guides were friendly and helpful. They were knowledgeable about the glow worms and seem to love what they do.

Product rating:   excellent

Such a beautiful sight. I thoroughly enjoyed the boat ride to the island and the trip into the caves.

Reviewed 27-Apr-2017

Service rating:   excellent

Easy booking process. Booked for my paragliding and glowworm cave tour in advance and it made things so much easier on the day.

Product rating:   good

Friendly and informative staff. Complementary tea and coffee are always nice. Stunning experience.

Reviewed 16-Mar-2017

Service rating:   excellent

The company is professional and really well organized!

Product rating:   excellent

It was a well organized day and our bus driver was amazing!

Reviewed 10-May-2016

Service rating:   excellent

Helpful support to answer my enquiry, and I have made some changes of my booking with very quick response and action.

Product rating:   excellent

Value for money, with cruise time, seeing the caves, a tea break followed with a presentation. A very fruitful tour!

Reviewed 28-Mar-2016

Service rating:   excellent

Thank you for efficient service.

Product rating:   excellent

The trip from Te Anau to the Glow Worm Caves was very enjoyable. The accompanying staff were helpful and knowledgeable. Thank you for the perfect weather too!

Reviewed 22-Mar-2016

Service rating:   good

Booking was easy, no complaints

Product rating:   poor

It is a huge day of travelling for 20 mins in the cave. The bus broke down so we waited for an hour for that to be rectified, it then took 3 hours to get to our destination we then had an 1hr 30 min wait to get the ferry this then took half an hour we then got off on the island and editing another hour to go in the caves which was only 20-30 mins then was rushed back on the ferry for the long journey back home. Don't do this trip if you're staying in Queenstown it's not worth it. The glow worms on the north island are 100 times better.

Reviewed 15-Jan-2016

Reply from Everything Travel Group

Thank you for taking to the time to leave your feedback Nicholas and I'm so sorry about the big delay and long wait time yu had to endure for such a short cave tour. That must have been extremely frustrating for you. You are 100% correct that this tour is best done from Te Anau rather than catching a return coach from Queenstown. We never used to offer the transfers from Queenstown but there was a demand for it so we added this option to our website. We will try and make it clearer on our website that there is a significant amount of free time in Te Anau before your tour commences so other travellers aren't caught off guard like you were. The caves in the north island at Waitomo are incredible and we do regularly sell both tours. As a token of goodwill for the poor experience you had I would like to offer you an Everything Travel Group gift voucher that you can use towards the cost of any future tours you may wish to book in New Zealand. Or you are welcome to pass this on to family or friends that are visiting here in the future. Please email us back and mention this and I will happily organise a gift voucher for you. Thanks again for your comments.

Regards
Callum Goodall
Everything Travel

Posted 17-Jan-2016

Service rating:   excellent

Very good & replied my email & queries fast
Very helpful

Product rating:   excellent

Reviewed 02-Jan-2016

Service rating:   excellent

Nothing to add.

Product rating:   excellent

Driver (Carl) was excellent, talked throughout coach journey and seemed very knowledgable

Reviewed 03-Dec-2015

Service rating:   good

Booking online was reasonably easy, any questions I had did take slightly longer than I thought especially as they were asked during working hours. Would recommend your travel group to friends and family.

Product rating:   excellent

Something I had never seen before so was fascinated by the glow worms.

Reviewed 05-Feb-2015

Service rating:   excellent

Everything was planned well.

Product rating:   excellent

Great tour and a good guide

Reviewed 23-Dec-2014

Service rating:   excellent

I booked the activity only 15 mins before the start time. Even though the shirt time frame they were able to get me on it. They responded to the emails very fast.

Product rating:   excellent

Reviewed 15-Sep-2014

Service rating:   excellent

The dart stables horse riding was brilliant however the guide didn't talk about The Lord of the rings filming locations and that's why we did the ride

Product rating:   excellent

Excellent however the 5 hours hanging around in Te Anu was too long as there was nothing to do

Reviewed 10-Sep-2014

Service rating:   excellent

Very professional and helpful

Product rating:   excellent

Very well organised, as are most things in New Zealand. Only thing I didnt like, which I knew I wouldnt, was when you were thrust into total blackness!!! But wanted to go on the trip so that my husband could.

Reviewed 24-Mar-2013

Service rating:   excellent

All staff were very helpful and friendly and punctual. We were running late for our activities in Q'Town, but they were very flexible and accommodated our schedule nicely. Thanks

Product rating:   excellent

Reviewed 19-Mar-2013

Service rating:   excellent

The company were very quick their response and issuing of the vouchers. We had not problems with any of the activities that we had vouchers for. Overall, a perfect holiday was planned for us! Thank you!

Product rating:   good

Great seeing the glow worms however the communication with regards to the coach pickup going back to Queenstown was not clear enough and we had some trouble getting information from Real Journeys in regards to this.

Reviewed 15-Mar-2013

Latest Questions about Te Anau Glow Worm Caves

Hi , we are macau quest , we have 7adult and 3child wanna join the glow worm caves day tour from queenstown , is it possible for child whose ages under 5? thank you!

Comments

Children under the age of 5 travel for free on the Glow Worms tour from Queenstown, however they are not permitted in the actual glow worm caves. There is a cafe on the other side of the lake after the boat ride where you can wait with your infant while your partner visits the caves & you can then swap as the cave tour is always split into two groups.

Comment by: Everything Travel Group (Callum) on 24th Oct 16 at 16:20

1 comment - Post a Comment

Ah, one more question please. If I were to opt to secure my own transport to Te Anau, where should I stop at? However, I am not driving and would have to look for a bus to get to your location in Te Anau (for the glowworm tour). My accommodation in Queenstown is at Hurley's. Is it easy to get from Hurley's to Te Anau location via bus?

0 comments - Post a Comment

I was just wondering. Can you visit the caves if your pregnant?

Comments

There is no reason why you can't visit the glow worm caves in Te Anau if you are pregnant however if you take the return coach from Queenstown it is quite a long day with a fair bit of waiting around. If you have your own transport then I recommend driving yourself to Te Anau (2 hours south of Queenstown) and doing the tour from there. This will cut many hours off the duration of the trip and make it more enjoyable.

Comment by: Everything Travel Group (Callum) on 28th Jan 16 at 00:37

1 comment - Post a Comment

I am looking at traveling to New Zealand in December to visit family for Christmas. Before I see them, I wanted to see a bit of what NZ has to offer, in particular Queenstown. I am very interested in this tour but would be traveling on my own. Do you have a min amount of people to be able to do this tour especially departing & returning from Queenstown?

Comments

There is a minimum number required to run the glow worm tour from Queenstown but it always confirms as the coach you get from Queenstown is actually the Milford Sound bus that takes customers to Milford for the nature cruise. You would be on this bus and dropped off in Te Anau for your glow worm tour. You will have several hours free time in Te Anau to look around before your glow worm tour. You will then be dropped back to Queenstown after the tour which is 2 hours from Te Anau.

Comment by: Everything Travel Group (Callum) on 23rd Jun 15 at 16:51

1 comment - Post a Comment

Is your 5.45pm trip has more to see than the 7.00pm tour?
Our worry is 7.00pm trip may be too late and too dark and maybe too cold in early October 2014.
Appreciate your feedback.
Thanks.

Comments

Hi Lee. The Te Anau Glow Worm caves are actually dark all day long so it doesn't matter what time you do the tour as it will be the same darkness in the caves. The darker the better when it comes to spotting glow worms!!

Comment by: Everything Travel Group (Callum) on 30th Aug 14 at 15:19

1 comment - Post a Comment

What goes on during the 12.5 hours if I depart from Queenstown? The journey should take 2 hours, and the tour should take 2.5 hours, in addition to another 2 hours for the return journey. What goes into the remaining 6 hours?

Comments

Hi Bow. You're right, it does seem like a long time considering the length of the Te Anau glow worms tour. The simple answer is that the coach that takes you down to Te Anau from Queenstown and back again is actually the same coach that takes people to Milford Sound so you end up having about 3-4 hours of free time in Te Anau before the glow worms tour commences. After the tour you are brought straight back to Queenstown. If you would prefer not to have all that extra time in Te Anau then you can drive yourself to Te Anau (2 hours from Queenstown).

Comment by: Everything Travel Group (Callum) on 27th May 14 at 13:41

1 comment - Post a Comment

Good morning, I am planning a trip for a friend and I from Queenstown to the Te Anau Glow worm caves in May 2014. My friend is concerned about steps. Are there many steps in the caves? Also where in Queenstown would we catch the bus for the transfer and where in Te Anau would we catch the bus back. Is it close to the end of the tour. I am planning it to be a day trip so the trip back to Queenstown would have to be the same day.

Comments

Hi Jennifer. There are some steps that you have to navigate on the Glow worm cave tour in Te Anau however the tour is suitable for people of all ages and physical abilities so if you have reasonable fitness you should be fine.

Yes you can do a glow worm caves tour to Te Anau from Queenstown in the one day. There is a return coach from Queenstown that departs early in the morning and allows you about 4 hours free time in Te Anau before your glow worm tour and then return transfers back to town. The total duration including transfers is 12.5 hours. If you are able to drive yourself to Te Anau, which is 2 hours from Queenstown, then that is a much more time efficient way of seeing the glow worm caves as the tour itself only lasts 2.5 hours.

Comment by: Everything Travel Group (Callum) on 18th Feb 14 at 17:29

1 comment - Post a Comment

Are there any glow worm cave tours in the morning? We are 4 adults looking for a tour on Sunday morning, January 12th. We will already be in Te Anau from the night before, and we cannot stay and wait until the 2 pm tour.
Thanks!

Comments

Hi Debbie. Unfortunately, the earliest Glow Worm cave tour in Te Anau is 2pm. However if you are in town the night before you might like to consider the 8.15pm tour that operates during the summer months. 

Comment by: Everything Travel Group (Callum) on 1st Dec 13 at 12:06

1 comment - Post a Comment

Is the price $136 per person include the
return bus trip to Queenstown?

Comments

Hi Anita. Yes that's correct, if you book the Te Anau Glow Worm Caves tour from Queenstown the cost is $136 per person including coach transfers from Queenstown (2 hours each way to Te Anau).

Comment by: Everything Travel Group (Nigel) on 1st Mar 13 at 16:09

1 comment - Post a Comment

Do you operate on Christmas day?

Comments

Hi Linda, yes the Te Anau Glow Worm Caves certainly will be operating on Christmas day. Simply make your booking online and we will send you back your e-ticket confirmation.

Comment by: Everything Travel Group (Belinda) on 1st Dec 12 at 13:46

1 comment - Post a Comment

Is it possible to be picked up at Te Anau and then dropped off at queenstown and how much would this cost?

Comments

Hi Jasmine yes, you certainly could get picked up in Te Anau and dropped back in Queenstown for the Glow Worms tour however you would need to pay the full Queenstown price as even though you wouldn't be coming from Queenstown in the morning they would still need to reserve your seat so you can get back in the afternoon. The price from Queenstown is $126 and you would just need to add in the "Additional Information" field that you are wanting to be collected in Te Anau but return to Queenstown.

Comment by: Everything Travel Group on 19th Sep 12 at 12:40

1 comment - Post a Comment

Is this a viable activity if we have already gor accomodation in Queenstown for our entire visit?

Comments

Hi Rebecca,

The Glow Worm Caves in Te-Anau are certainly an option as you can take a day trip down to Te-Anau. It will take around 2 and half hours to get to the Glow Worm Caves. You can hire a car and drive or take a bus to Te-Anau and then be picked up by the team at Glow Worm Caves. Te-Anau is the last township before the famous Milford Sound, it has a beautiful Lake/scenery and a nice place to visit if you have time in your schedule.

Comment by: Everything Travel Group (Nigel) on 22nd Apr 12 at 10:25

1 comment - Post a Comment

97%
rating

97% of new customers that used Everything Queenstown to provide advice and securely book their Queenstown activities have let us know they've had a good or excellent experience with us. Thank you.