• Queenstown
  • Everything New Zealand

Easy to book - Secure Online Payments - Instant email confirmation - Flexible to make changes

Horse Riding - Ben Lomond Trekking

  • Pin on Pinterest
  • Share on Facebook
Horse Riding - Ben Lomond Trekking

from NZD$99.00

  • Horse Riding - Ben Lomond Trekking image 1
  • Horse Riding - Ben Lomond Trekking image 2
  • Horse Riding - Ben Lomond Trekking image 3
  • Horse Riding - Ben Lomond Trekking image 4
  • Horse Riding - Ben Lomond Trekking image 5
  • Horse Riding - Ben Lomond Trekking image 6
  • Horse Riding - Ben Lomond Trekking image 7
  • Horse Riding - Ben Lomond Trekking image 8
  • Horse Riding - Ben Lomond Trekking image 9

Horse Riding - Ben Lomond Trekking

Prices & Options Currency Converter

Moke Lake:

  • adult NZD$99.00
  • child (4-16yrs) NZD$90.00

Gills Creek:

  • adult NZD$130.00
  • child (10-16yrs) NZD$120.00

McConachies Creek:

  • adult (14yrs+) NZD$190.00

Lake Trek & Gold Panning:

  • per person NZD$120.00

Optional Extras:

  • walker for young kids NZD$10.00

Genuine Customer Reviews powered by Feefo

Service rating:   excellent

Friendly and helpful. Everything went smoothly and without any hiccups. Highly recommended!

Product rating:   excellent

Beautiful countryside, lively horses and friendly guide. Thank you for a great experience!

Reviewed 05-Jun-2017

Service rating:   excellent

Booking was easy, the excursions were great

Product rating:   excellent

The entire crew was wonderful! Friendly, funny, professional. Beautiful yacht. Made me feel comfortable doing dives.

Reviewed 16-May-2017

Service rating:   excellent

The teams are super friendly and passionate about what they love doing.

Product rating:   poor

Lovely horse ride however felt like I rode around in a circle. The scenery was stunning, such a beautiful farm.

Reviewed 27-Apr-2017

Service rating:   poor

The only problem that occurred was when I went to confirm our booking the day before as requested by the paperwork supplied,they had no knowledge of my booking and had to give all the details again. Which I found very frustrating and disappointing.

Product rating:   good

Reviewed 25-Jan-2017

Service rating:   good

Easy to book online, easy to change by phone

Product rating:   good

Our boys loved the horseriding and the horses were great and well looked after. A trot or canter would have been a great option for the more experienced like myself.

Reviewed 19-Jan-2017

Service rating:   excellent

..

Product rating:   excellent

Reviewed 30-May-2016

Service rating:   excellent

Booking was easy! Smooth process and had a great day.

Product rating:   excellent

Staff were hilarious and super friendly! Had an amazing time

Reviewed 15-May-2016

Service rating:   excellent

very efficient and good customer service

Product rating:   good

very good trip. thanks

Reviewed 25-Apr-2016

Service rating:   excellent

Very good

Product rating:   excellent

Staffs are professional and friendly. Everything was awesome,good service, well organised

Reviewed 22-Apr-2016

Service rating:   good

Very good communications however, would prefer not to have to wait until opening hours to get confirmation especially as when on holiday, wifi opportunities are not as great as when at home unless I pay exorbitant roaming charges

Product rating:   excellent

Well organised, polite and highly trained crew, would recommend this company for the Great Barrier Reef experience

Reviewed 06-Apr-2016

Service rating:   excellent

they were amazing. will definitely come back.

Product rating:   excellent

omg the horse back riding was amazing and the girls there are so lovely. i will definitely be coming back next time im in queenstown

Reviewed 06-Apr-2016

Service rating:   good

Trouble free experience.

Product rating:   excellent

Our guide Christy was great. The operator is safety conscious but not overly so. The scenery was breath taking. We thoroughly enjoyed our ride.

Reviewed 02-Apr-2016

Service rating:   bad

Down under diving is the most worst diving company that I have ever been on and they have cheated us as well. They charged us for things we didn't do like going on the submarine. The reef tour conducted by the Marine Biologist is a joke. The Marine biologist was racial abusive to us. And the staff on the boat were terrible. I am reporting them to the Australian Taxation Office for not giving us a tax invoice for all the things that they have charged us for and I am also reporting them to the Australian Consumer Commission for malpractice. The diving instructor was terrible and we doubt his qualifications as my husband's descent to the surface after diving was too fast as confirmed by our doctor as my husband suffered for almost a week from rapidly descending from diving.
Both me and my husband are disgusted with this company, it was a waste of our time and money and ruined our health.

Product rating:   bad

Down under diving is the most worst diving company that I have ever been on and they have cheated us as well. They charged us for things we didn't do like going on the submarine. The reef tour conducted by the Marine Biologist is a joke. The Marine biologist was racial abusive to us. And the staff on the boat were terrible. I am reporting them to the Australian Taxation Office for not giving us a tax invoice for all the things that they have charged us for and I am also reporting them to the Australian Consumer Commission for malpractice. The diving instructor was terrible and we doubt his qualifications as my husband's descent to the surface after diving was too fast as confirmed by our doctor as my husband suffered for almost a week from rapidly descending from diving.
Both me and my husband are disgusted with this company, it was a waste of our time and money and ruined our health.

Reviewed 01-Apr-2016

Reply from Everything Travel Group

Thank you for providing feedback for the Down Under Dive cruise you recently went on. We are so sorry to hear that you had a negative experience with them. All feedback is greatly appreciated and we are currently investigating with Down Under Dive the issues raised in your comments. I have sent you an email for further information so we can discuss this with the operations team at Down Under Dive. We hope your husband is feeling better now.

Alex Roberts
Everything Travel Group.

Posted 05-Apr-2016

Service rating:   good

Communication and follow up was good would use this again

Product rating:   excellent

excellent day fabulous boat and a real great crew, very professional highly recommend this tour

Reviewed 19-Mar-2016

Service rating:   excellent

over my expectation

Product rating:   excellent

friendly staffs & excellent instructors

Reviewed 14-Feb-2016

Service rating:   good

There were no issues at all with Everything Travel Group, I would be happy to use them again.

Product rating:   excellent

The horse trekking experience was brilliant, our group had a great time. Our guide was excellent. I will certainly be recommending this to friends and family.

Reviewed 19-Jan-2016

Service rating:   excellent

Very easy to use.

Product rating:   excellent

Wonderful experience! Katie my guide was very knowledgeable about the area and extremely friendly. My ride was perfect for experienced riders with plenty of opportunities to get out of a walk and canter along the trail. Beautiful scenery through out the ride. Overall a wonderful morning! Horses were very well cared for and all staff pleasant.

Reviewed 12-Jan-2016

Service rating:   good

Easy to book, good information on the site

Product rating:   good

Well organized with good equipment and food. I really appreciated that they had wetsuits for hire, otherwise i would have burnt to a crisp! Nice locations - got to see a turtle, small shark and a giant clam, amongst many fish and corals. Staff were generally friendly, except the girl at the bar. All in all, thank you for a lovely day out!

Reviewed 26-Aug-2015

Service rating:   excellent

responsive

Product rating:   excellent

well organized

Reviewed 30-Mar-2015

Service rating:   excellent

Easy to use and organise.

Product rating:   excellent

Beautiful scenery. Enjoyable, relaxing ride.

Reviewed 25-Dec-2014

Service rating:   good

Service was good - they even sent us back to the hotel.

Product rating:   good

But make sure the weather is right. These people are great and friendly. Nothing to worry ..... amazing ride

Reviewed 14-Nov-2014

Service rating:   good

The telephone lady told me that there would be children's wetsuits available on board but there weren't.

Product rating:   good

There weren't any child sized wetsuits available. I'd been told over the telephone that there would be.

Reviewed 05-Oct-2014

Service rating:   excellent

Perfect management and staff and nice food

Product rating:   excellent

Excellent

Reviewed 17-Aug-2013

Reply from Customer

Good thanks

Posted 17-Aug-2013

Service rating:   good

I just still not yet got my refund of the cancelled skydiving tour.

Product rating:  

The day before the trip, I was told that the boat had some problems and I had to cancel it. I was shocked n felt like "What? Cancelled again?" Finally the girl who called me helped me transfer to another boat "Passion of Paradise" and I had a good time on that tour.

Reviewed 29-May-2013

Reply from Everything Travel Group

Hi Ting. Sorry to hear your skydive was eventually cancelled and that you had to wait around all day. That must have been very frustrating for you. Your refund was processed immediately on the day your skydive was cancelled. This may take up to 5 days to appear in your bank account. Thanks for taking the time to offer your feedback and we will be sure to pass your comments in regards to the poor communication on to the team at the Australia Skydive Company.

Callum Goodall
Everything Travel Group

Posted 30-May-2013

Service rating:   good

Great!

Product rating:   excellent

Amazing! Beautiful views, great customer service, loved it all.

Reviewed 27-Mar-2013

Service rating:   excellent

Very professional and helpful.

Product rating:   good

Limited a little as there was a very small child in the group

Reviewed 24-Mar-2013

Service rating:   excellent

Very helpful

Product rating:   bad

Mis informed staff caused me to lose full payment for this activity. Myself and 4 children very disappointed!

Reviewed 21-Mar-2013

Reply from Everything Travel Group

Hi Sally. Thanks again for your feedback and I'm so sorry to hear that you missed out on doing your horse ride in Queenstown. That must have been very disappointing. I have spoken with the management at Ben Lomond Horse Treks. The ride did go ahead however I believe you did not have any appropriate clothing for the conditions and therefore chose not to participate on the ride. If the weather was bad enough then the ride would have been cancelled and you would have been given the opportunity to reschedule or receive a full refund. I'm sorry that you weren't told to bring rain jackets and warm clothes the night before when you rang up to reconfirm your booking & I'll make sure that the staff in future inform customers to wear appropriate clothing to suit the conditions. Thanks again for taking the time to comment.

Callum Goodall
Everything Travel Group

Posted 21-Mar-2013

Service rating:   excellent

I emailed my thanks for your great staff, and my whole day experience 06/03/2013

Product rating:   excellent

best day out ever. see my email to you dated 06/03/2013

Reviewed 19-Mar-2013

Service rating:   excellent

easy to use, good service

Product rating:   good

Reviewed 17-Mar-2013

Service rating:   excellent

Simple. Reliable. Clear.

Product rating:   good

Reviewed 16-Mar-2013

Everything Travel Group Review

I had riden a horse only once before so I was a little nervous... ok, a lot nervous about riding a horse again! Sensing my anxiety, Gail and Hope, the incredibly patient, knowledgable and friendly guides, gave me some quick pointers and selected a mild mannered and obedient horse for me by the name of Charlie. We walked, trotted and even cantered for about 2 hours through some amazing scenery with waterfalls, canyons and about 20 or so river crossings. Ok, it's safe to say I didn't quite master the trot but even so, our small group of 5 had an amazing time. I can't ever remember laughing so much as an adult!

Suggestions: Great for experienced riders who want to go hard and also perfect for beginners  who'd prefer a leisurely walk and need a little coaching and reassurance. If you're a guy then I'd suggest not planning anything too strenous for the day after, unless of course, unlike me, you figure out how to trot!

  Value for Money

  Wow Factor

  Fun Factor

Reviewed 16 Dec 2011 by Everything Travel Group (Callum)

Latest Questions about Horse Riding - Ben Lomond Trekking

We would like to book a private ride as we are all experienced riders but my husband weighs 225-227 pounds
Is that a problem?

Comments

I have spoken with the horse riding guides and the maximum weight restriction for the Ben Lomond horse rides in Queenstown is normally 100kg (220lbs) but if you book the Moke Lake ride during which the horses only walk (no trotting or cantering) then they can take up to 110kg (240lbs).

Comment by: Everything Travel Group (Callum) on 27th Nov 15 at 18:49

1 comment - Post a Comment

Ref : Moke Lake 1.5 hours in the saddle.

Q1.-Can this be booked for an p.m.departure and if so what would pick up time be from Novotel Lakeside?

Q.2 - How far are you located from Queenstown?

I will be on a coach tour visiting Queenstown 20th. February and would like to try and fit this ride in if possible.

Many thanks

<em>#@@</em>

Comments

Yes the Moke Lake horse ride in Queenstown has 3 departures daily at 9am, 12pm and 3pm. Pick up is from outside the Station building in the centre of town. The ride is in Moke Lake which is about 25 minutes out of Queenstown on the lake road to Glenorchy. Return transfers are included. The views are spectacular.

Comment by: Everything Travel Group (Callum) on 12th Oct 15 at 22:03

1 comment - Post a Comment

Is their are a weight limit?

Comments

Hi Chaun. There is a maximum weight limit of 100kg on the Ben Lomond horse riding in Queenstown.

Comment by: Everything Travel Group (Callum) on 6th Feb 15 at 15:41

1 comment - Post a Comment

do you have to be an experienced rider

Comments

Hi Simone. No you do not have to be an experienced rider to do one of the Ben Lomond horse treks in Queenstown. People of all abilities and ages are welcome to go riding and when you book online we ask for your riding ability so we can organise a horse best suited to your needs.

Comment by: Everything Travel Group (Callum) on 31st Aug 14 at 12:57

1 comment - Post a Comment

Hi there, do u guys accept American Express? Thanks

Comments

Hi Fernanda. Yes we do accept American Express, Visa and Mastercard for the Ben Lomond horse trekking and all other activities in Queenstown and do not charge any credit card or booking fees. 

Comment by: Everything Travel Group (Callum) on 19th May 14 at 17:24

1 comment - Post a Comment

Hello, could you please confirm if rain jackets are supplied on your horse trek?

Thankyou

Comments

Hi Mark,

Yes Ben Lomond Horse Trekking have rain coats which will keep you nice and dry.

Comment by: Everything Travel Group (Nigel) on 24th Feb 14 at 18:10

1 comment - Post a Comment

Hi do you transport from queenstown?

Comments

Hi Rachael. Yes free transfers to and from Queenstown are included when you book a horse trek with Ben Lomond horses.

Comment by: Everything Travel Group (Callum) on 17th Feb 14 at 16:40

1 comment - Post a Comment

Hi, we are planning a trip over Easter and would like to know what is the minimum age for kids to ride accompanied by an adult (for an extra $10 as mentioned in your website)?
Thanks

Comments

Hi Aino, the leading by one of the guides for an additional $10 on the child price is generally done for those that are aged between 4-6 who aren't confident or stable enough to ride on their own. 

Comment by: Everything Travel Group (Belinda) on 24th Jan 14 at 10:45

1 comment - Post a Comment

How far are you from Queenstown and do you have any self drive prices?

Comments

Hi Jane, Ben Lomond Trekking is about a 10-15 minute drive from central Queenstown. There are no self drive prices for their rides.

Comment by: Everything Travel Group (Belinda) on 8th Jan 14 at 20:10

1 comment - Post a Comment

I would lke a gift voucher for 2 people redemable end of january /beginning of February 2014. I want this as Xmas present.Can you send voucher online.

Comments

Hi Karen. Yes yo can book an open dated gift voucher for horse riding in Queenstown. Simply click on the 'Book Now" button at the top or bottom of this page, then check the 'I want this to be an open dated gift voucher' button. You can then book & pay for an instant gift voucher valid for 12 months that we will email straight back to you. 

Comment by: Everything Travel Group (Callum) on 18th Dec 13 at 11:16

1 comment - Post a Comment

what kind of saddle to you use...english or american western?

Comments

Hi Joe, english saddles are used at Ben Lomond Trekking. 

Comment by: Everything Travel Group (Belinda) on 29th Apr 13 at 12:02

1 comment - Post a Comment

Hi I am wondering if your Mote Lake trek is suitable for an 8 year old girl (I will be there too) with no riding exerience? What would the cost of this be for the 2 of us? Is the trek available nov 3?
Thanks

Comments

Hi Karl, yes the Moke Lake ride is suitable for your 8 year old with no riding experience. The cost is $80 per adult and $70 per child. Ben Lomond Trekking is scheduled to start again as of November 1 so yes the 3rd November is available to book.

Comment by: Everything Travel Group (Belinda) on 16th Oct 12 at 16:37

1 comment - Post a Comment

Hi!

I have visited the website http://nzhorsetreks.co.nz/bookings-and-enquiries
It says that it is closed in early June (7/6). But I am able to book via this website.

I would like to clarify whether it is opened or not. If it is, it would be great news. 4 of us from Singapore would be delighted to book your horses =)

If you are open, I would like to book immediately.

thank you

Comments

Hi Maryamn, unfortunately Ben Lomond Horse Riding have just decided they will no longer operate during the winter with their last trek taking place 31st May. The site now reflects this.

Comment by: Everything Travel Group (Belinda) on 11th May 12 at 10:37

Hi Maryamn, unfortunately Ben Lomond Horse Riding have just decided they will no longer operate during the winter with their last trek taking place 31st May. The site now reflects this.

Comment by: Everything Travel Group (Belinda) on 11th May 12 at 10:41

2 comments - Post a Comment

I am planning to join the 6.30pm Moke Lake ride on the coming 7Apr.But I cannot see this is an available time slot from the company website. Thus, can I confirm this time slot is available?

Comments

Hi Kevin. Daylight savings is finishing in New Zealand at the end of March so it will be getting darker an hour earlier which means the evening Moke Lake horse ride with Ben Lomond Horse Trekking will change from 6.30pm to approximately 5.30pm. If you book the 6.30pm departure time on our website then we will make sure we let you know exactly what time the pick up will be.

Comment by: Everything Travel Group (Callum) on 23rd Mar 12 at 18:00

1 comment - Post a Comment

Hi there, we are coming down for holiday and would like to participate in your moke lake trek, we will not have a vehicle so we were wondering when pick up and drop offs were? Would we need to spend the day at your facility or do you have regular trips to queenstown? We will be staying at the heritage hotel

Comments

Hi Samantha. Ben Lomond Horse Trekking pick up and drop off from outside the Station Building which is in central Queenstown. It is located on the corner of Shotover St and Camp St which is 2km down the road from the Heritage Hotel Queenstown.

Comment by: Everything Travel Group (Belinda) on 15th Mar 12 at 10:10

1 comment - Post a Comment

I am an experienced rider and have my own horse. Which trek would you recommend I go on at Ben Lomond Trekking when I am in Queenstown.

Comments

Hi Stacey, the trek options at Ben Lomond Trekking in Queenstown cater to all riding abilities. You will be given a horse matched to your ability and given the option to have a gallop etc where possible. I would recommend going on the Ride into the Past trek as it is the longer of the three options (3 hours).

Comment by: Everything Travel Group (Belinda) on 30th Jan 12 at 17:18

Do all the rides have river crossings?

Comment by: Lucy White on 30th Jan 12 at 17:23

Hi Lucy, yes there are river crossings in all the Ben Lomond treks. There are up to 15 in the McConachies Creek ride and both the Moke Lake and Ride into the Past treks have a number of river crossings as well.

Comment by: Everything Travel Group (Belinda) on 30th Jan 12 at 17:33

3 comments - Post a Comment

I have never been horse riding before, are any of these trips suitable for beginners?

Comments

Hi Anthony. Ben Lomond horse trekking caters for both beginners and experienced riders. The guides will select suitable horses for each rider depending on your size and riding ability . I would recommend the Moke Lake ride over the other two options though as you spend 1.5 hours in the saddle which is plenty of time for a beginner. The other 2 ride options are a bit longer in duration and may be a bit too long in the saddle, especially for guys!

Comment by: Everything Travel Group (Callum) on 9th Dec 11 at 15:13

1 comment - Post a Comment

97%
rating

97% of new customers that used Everything Queenstown to provide advice and securely book their Queenstown activities have let us know they've had a good or excellent experience with us. Thank you.